Organic Is Pricier, But Better

Photo courtesy of frenchatfams.wikispaces.com

Photo courtesy of frenchatfams.wikispaces.com

MSN has a video up about the debate over whether organic produce is healthier than conventional produce. The video cites studies done that compared the two and found that organic fruits and veggies have up to 70% more antioxidants than conventionally grown food. The studies also confirm that organic food doesn’t contain chemicals that conventional food is doused with, namely pesticides and cadmium, thus making organic healthier.

The fact remains, however, that those who are on a tight budget often find organic food out of their price range and don’t buy it. My personal strategy is to buy mostly conventional produce, and buy organic items once in a while. Once in a while is better than never, and I place high value on my health. So spending a bit extra on occasion is worth it. I also shop at Trader Joe’s, which sells healthy food (very few chemicals, preservatives, pesticides, etc.) at low prices.

4 thoughts on “Organic Is Pricier, But Better

  1. I guess low prices is subjective. When I went there I found the prices quite high for my budget. I find farmer markets are a much better resource, more local, and cheaper. They often have organic produce as well. The thing about organic you have to eat it like in 3 days even refrigerated because is spoils so much quicker. Then again apples that last a month in the fridge I question if that much preservatives is healthy? I find if you shop smart, stick with the healthy items on sale, and plan your meals you can still eat fairly healthy on a budget.

    • I actually find the reverse to be true about farmer’s markets- where I live in NY, farmer’s markets are more expensive than Trader Joe’s. But the most important thing is that you find an affordable way to eat healthy, which it sounds like you’ve done.

      • I guess it helps to live in Arizona, a state with a lot of agriculture and being next door to California that has even more agriculture. Yes I try to eat healthy, chronic health issues run in my family especially on my father’s side and I don’t want to suffer the same fate. I need to eat better though and exercise more than I have been recently. Thanks for helping remind me of that. As far as Trader Joes perhaps I will have to take a second look.

Leave a Reply

